Skip to content
Independent notes on AI computeChecked daily / 2026.09.27
buildai/current

Credits

Last checked:

Alibaba Cloud free trial: USD 90 (ECS)

creditscloudalibaba-cloud

Alibaba's international cloud platform, offering ECS virtual machines, databases, and AI services across global regions. Official site

Alibaba Cloud free trial, the facts

Official source

AmountUSD 90 (ECS)
Grant typeTime-limited free trial
ExpiryECS free credits valid for 3 months; solution trial points valid 1 year
Payment method requiredYes
Withdrawable as cashNo
What I ran on itNot tested yet

Good for

  • Trying ECS virtual machines with a USD 90 budget over 3 months
  • Structured product-by-product evaluation: each eligible product has its own trial

Not for

  • GPU experiments: no GPU card appears in the free-trial catalog
  • Paying with PayPal: it is not supported for trials

Alibaba Cloud international has no single lump-sum signup credit. The headline offer for compute is per-product: ECS comes with “USD 90 Free Credits (Valid for 3 Months)”. A payment method is required (Visa, Mastercard, AMEX, or JCB; PayPal is not supported for trials). All figures come from Alibaba Cloud’s official free trial pages, checked on 2026-09-02.

Correcting the $300 figure

Blog posts and credit roundups still describe a $300 lump-sum credit for new international Alibaba Cloud accounts. As of 2026-08-21 that is not the current official model. The official free page lists per-product trials instead, with the ECS USD 90 for 3 months as the compute-relevant one. Treat $300 claims as stale until Alibaba’s own pages say otherwise. Corrections like this are the reason this page exists; compare the same pattern in the DigitalOcean entry, where a widely circulated $200 figure is also absent from official pages.

How the trial system works

Two mechanisms run in parallel. First, per-product free trials: one trial per product, first use only. Second, solution trial points: 50 trial points once (1 point = USD 1), plus 5 more per solution up to another 50. Points are isolated to trial accounts and valid for 1 year. Points and per-product trials are separate pots; neither is a general account credit.

GPU status

No GPU card appears in the free-trial catalog, so there is no official free GPU path on Alibaba Cloud international. If free GPU access matters, no hyperscaler trial on this site currently offers it directly; see how to choose between a VPS, GPU cloud, serverless, or a sandbox for platforms built around GPU access instead.

Enforcement fine print

One identity across accounts: the first-use rule applies per person, not per account. Instances that become ineligible are stopped or locked, and released after 15 days. Do not park anything you care about on a trial instance past its window.

What I have done with it

Not tested yet. This page reports only what the official pages state.

Choose Alibaba Cloud if you specifically want to evaluate ECS with a defined USD 90 budget; skip it if you expected an account-wide credit. For lump-sum alternatives, see the Oracle Cloud free trial and the AWS Free Tier credits. Every grant I track is on the credits index.

What changed here

  1. New entry

    Added Alibaba Cloud: USD 90 (ECS).

Plus 1 recheck that found nothing changed. Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.

Related entries

Sources

Last checked:

All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.