02 / Credits / AI sandboxes
Checked 2026.09.18
AI sandbox free credits
5entries, all verified offers
Code-execution sandboxes are the newest category on the ledger: isolated environments for running AI-generated code, billed by the second rather than by the month. Every platform tracked here currently ships a free credit or a free plan, which makes this the rare category where every row is an offer.
The table alone undersells how differently these platforms work, so below it each one gets a short note on what separates it from the rest, using only what their official pages state.
The ai sandboxes ledger
5 entries, all offers
| Product | Amount | Type | Expiry | Payment method required | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Northflank | No cash credit; free Developer Sandbox plan | Always-free tier | Not stated officially | Yes | Last checked: |
| Daytona | $200 in free compute | Signup credit | Not stated officially | No | Last checked: |
| E2B | $100 (one-time) | Signup credit | Not stated officially | No | Last checked: |
| Vercel | $0 per month Hobby plan | Monthly free tier | No billing cycles on Hobby; exceeding Sandbox quotas pauses creation until 30 days after first use | Not stated officially | Last checked: |
| Novita AI | $100 (Sandbox only) | Signup credit | Valid for 90 days | No | Last checked: |
What separates these platforms
The columns above make the platforms look interchangeable. They are not, and the differences below are the ones their own official pages state. For which sandboxes offer GPUs at all, see the guide on AI sandboxes with GPUs.
- E2B
- Free money as a plain usage credit on the sandbox platform itself: $100 (one-time) on the Hobby plan, no card required to start. Sandboxes are ephemeral by design and billed per second, so the credit drains only while a sandbox is actually running.
- Daytona
- The largest stated credit on this page: $200 in free compute, with no card required. The catch is scope: the official billing docs exclude GPU sandboxes from the free credit, so it buys CPU sandbox time (billed per second for CPU, memory, and storage), not GPU experiments.
- Vercel
- Not a credit at all: Sandbox comes inside the $0 per month Hobby plan, with monthly allowances (5 CPU hours and 5,000 sandbox creations per month) instead of a dollar balance. Hobby is limited to non-commercial use, and exceeding the Sandbox quotas pauses creation until 30 days after first use.
- Northflank
- The strictest of the group: the Developer Sandbox plan is free (2 services, 2 jobs, 1 addon) but there is no signup cash credit, every account must add a payment method to create resources, and GPU workloads need a $50 or larger credit purchase first.
- Novita AI
- A GPU cloud and model API provider whose signup offer is sandbox-scoped: $100 in credits valid for 90 days, no card required. The scope is the catch: the credit covers Sandbox CPU and RAM only, not GPU instances and not the model API.
Related comparisons
Related guides
AI sandboxes with GPUs: which exist, and what the free credits buy
VPS, GPU cloud, serverless, or sandbox: choosing compute for AI work
This page lists only the AI sandboxes entries. The full credits index tracks all 55 entries across every category, with filters.