Credits
Last checked:Cohere free trial: 1,000 API calls per month on a trial key
creditsapicohere
An AI platform with models for chat, embeddings, and reranking, accessed through trial or production API keys. Official site
Cohere free trial, the facts
| Amount | 1,000 API calls per month on a trial key |
|---|---|
| Grant type | Time-limited free trial |
| Expiry | Monthly call cap; no end date stated officially for trial keys |
| Payment method required | Not stated officially |
| Withdrawable as cash | No |
| What I ran on it | Not tested yet |
Filed under: AI API free credits
Good for
- Evaluating chat, embed, and rerank endpoints free inside 1,000 calls per month
- Embedding experiments: trial Embed allows 2,000 inputs per minute
Not for
- Production traffic on a trial key: usage is free but limited
- Skipping the paperwork: production keys need SaaS terms acknowledgment
Cohere gives every new registration a free rate-limited Trial API key. The official docs put it plainly: “Trial API key usage is free, but limited.” The hard cap is 1,000 API calls per month across the trial key, and there is no dollar credit involved; the grant is metered in calls, not money. The docs do not state a card requirement for trial keys. Checked against the official rate-limits and going-live docs on 2026-09-02.
The trial key limits
Per the rate-limits documentation: Chat is limited to 20 requests per minute, Embed to 2,000 inputs per minute, Rerank to 10 requests per minute, and other endpoints default to 500 requests per minute, all inside the overall 1,000 calls per month. The shape of those numbers matters: the per-minute limits are roomy while the monthly cap is small, so a trial key suits short bursts of evaluation, not a steady trickle of production traffic.
Calls versus credits
Most entries in this catalog measure grants in dollars. Cohere’s is measured in API calls, which makes it immune to the pricing-page ambiguity that plagues dollar grants but also means heavier requests and lighter requests cost the same against the cap. One thousand calls of Embed at up to 2,000 inputs per input-batch minute can process a meaningful corpus; 1,000 Chat calls is an afternoon of testing.
The path to production
Upgrading to a production key requires acknowledging Cohere’s SaaS terms, per the going-live docs. One more gotcha stated there: production keys for newer models can remain trial-limited until a review completes, so a production upgrade does not instantly lift every limit on every model.
Choose or skip
Choose Cohere’s trial key to evaluate embeddings and reranking free, where the per-minute allowances are generous. Skip it as a free production backend; 1,000 calls per month is an evaluation budget by design.
What I have done with it
Not tested yet. This page reports only what the official pages state.
For free access shaped as daily model limits instead of monthly calls, see OpenRouter, or the Mistral free tier for an evaluation mode without published numbers. Every grant I track is on the credits index.
What changed here
Added Cohere: 1,000 API calls per month on a trial key.
Plus 1 recheck that found nothing changed. Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.
Related entries
OpenRouter: 50 free-model requests/day
Mistral: Not stated officially
Anthropic: Not quantified officially
Sources
Last checked:All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.