Credits
Last checked:IBM Cloud free credits: USD 200
creditscloudibm
IBM's cloud platform, offering compute, Kubernetes, Watson AI services, and a catalog of always-free Lite products. Official site
IBM Cloud signup credit, the facts
| Amount | USD 200 |
|---|---|
| Grant type | One-time signup credit |
| Expiry | Available for 30 days after upgrading to Pay-as-you-go |
| Payment method required | Yes |
| Withdrawable as cash | No |
| What I ran on it | Not tested yet |
Good for
- Evaluating IBM services on a real budget once you are ready to add a card
- Long-term $0 tinkering on the 40 plus always-free Lite products
Not for
- Getting credit without a card: the USD 200 only appears after upgrading to Pay-as-you-go
- Third-party marketplace offerings: the credit does not apply to them
IBM Cloud’s USD 200 credit is available for 30 days, and only after you upgrade to a Pay-as-you-go account; it applies to first-time Pay-as-you-go accounts. A card is required for that upgrade, with a hold of about USD 1. Separately, 40 plus Lite products are always free without any credit involved. All figures come from IBM’s official free tier page, checked on 2026-09-02.
The upgrade-first structure
This is the detail that separates IBM from the other hyperscalers. On AWS and Azure, the credit lands at signup. On IBM Cloud, a plain free account gets Lite products only; the USD 200 appears when you convert to Pay-as-you-go for the first time. That means entering a payment method and accepting that usage beyond the credit bills normally. If you see IBM listed in credit roundups as a signup grant, that framing is wrong: it is an upgrade incentive.
What the credit covers
The USD 200 is not usable with third-party offerings in the catalog. On GPU specifically, the official page does not state whether the credit can buy GPU instances; one container promotion explicitly excludes GPU profiles, and beyond that GPU coverage is not stated officially. I will not claim GPU eligibility either way.
The Lite tier, and its reset rhythm
The 40 plus Lite products are the always-free layer: usage-capped service plans that cost nothing and need no credit. Quotas reset on the 1st of each month, and hitting a quota suspends that service for the rest of the month rather than billing you. One trap for students and educators: adding a card to an educational trial account upgrades it permanently.
What I have done with it
Not tested yet. This page reports only what the official page states.
Choose IBM Cloud if you are ready to go Pay-as-you-go anyway and want USD 200 of cushion; skip it if you want credit before committing a card to a billable account. For trials that start at signup instead, see the Oracle Cloud free trial or Google Cloud’s $300 credit. Every grant I track is on the credits index.
What changed here
Added IBM Cloud: USD 200.
Plus 1 recheck that found nothing changed. Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.
Related entries
AWS: up to $200
Microsoft Azure: $200
Oracle Cloud: US$300
Sources
Last checked:All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.