Credits
Last checked:Modal free tier: $30 per month
creditsserverlessmodalgpu
A serverless compute platform where you deploy Python functions that can attach GPUs, billed at per-second rates. Official site
Modal free tier, the facts
| Amount | $30 per month |
|---|---|
| Grant type | Monthly free tier |
| Expiry | Monthly allowance on the Starter plan; rollover of unused credit is not stated officially |
| Payment method required | Yes |
| Withdrawable as cash | No |
| What I ran on it | Not tested yet |
Filed under: GPU cloud free creditsServerless free tiers and credits
Good for
- Bursty GPU inference or batch jobs where idle cost should be zero
- Trying serverless GPU workflows with a monthly allowance instead of a one-time credit
Not for
- A persistent SSH box you administer yourself: Modal deploys functions, not servers
- Running without any payment method on file: their docs require one to use Modal
Modal’s Starter plan includes $30 per month of free credits, labeled “Included compute” on the pricing page. The plan itself costs $0 plus whatever compute you use beyond the credits. This is a monthly allowance, not a one-time signup grant. You must have a payment method on file to use Modal at all, per their billing docs. Checked against the official pricing and billing pages on 2026-09-02; the startup program page was checked 2026-08-29.

Screenshot: Modal pricing page
Last checked:
What the $30 covers
Officially it is “free credits”, “free compute”, or “included compute”. Modal’s pricing page lists GPU, CPU, memory, and storage as separate line items, but does not itemize which of those the $30 applies to. So the honest answer on coverage specifics is: not stated officially. I will not write “$30 of free GPU” because no official page says that. Whether unused credit rolls over to the next month is also not stated officially.
Billing granularity
Modal’s pricing page shows per-second rates. As one example, an Nvidia H100 was listed at $0.001097 per second as of 2026-08-24. Their billing docs say Modal is serverless, you pay only for compute you use or request, and there are “no minimum usage-time increments”. Note the docs phrase it that way rather than using the words “billed per second”, so I mirror both statements separately.
The payment method requirement
The billing docs say: you must have a payment method on file in order to use Modal. The official word is “payment method”, not “credit card”. There is no officially described way to consume the monthly credits without one, which is why this entry is marked as requiring a payment method.
The Team plan, for completeness
Modal’s Team plan costs $250 plus compute per month and includes $100 per month of credits. If you are evaluating Modal alone, the Starter plan is the free tier; the Team figures are here so you do not mistake the $100 for a signup offer.
What $30 converts to at listed per-second rates
The official pages do not itemize what the $30 applies to, so the sizing here is arithmetic against the published per-second rates, computed 2026-08-24. If the whole month’s credit went to a single GPU at the listed prices: an H100 SXM5 at $0.001097 per second comes to about 27,347 seconds, or roughly 7.6 hours; an A100 80 GB at $0.000694 per second is about 12 hours; a T4 at $0.000164 per second is about 50.8 hours. These are arithmetic ceilings, not a statement that the credit covers GPU line items; Modal does not publish that mapping. The scale is the point: $30 is a real but small monthly budget, not a month of anything running continuously.
Free GPU beyond the $30: the startup and academics programs
Modal also runs a startup program, and its official page advertises “thousands of free GPU credits” as a one-time grant. No dollar figure is stated, you may not reapply once you have received credits, and eligibility runs on venture funding: seed to Series A companies that raised from Modal’s VC partner network or more than $1m from any fund, with custom packages past Series B. The same page references a Modal for Academics program without stating an amount for it either. Checked 2026-08-29. So the complete picture of free GPU on Modal is the $30 per month on Starter for everyone, plus an apply-only startup grant whose size Modal does not publish.
What I have done with it
Not tested yet. I have not personally burned through a month of the allowance, so this page reports only what the official pages state.
If you want a persistent server instead of functions, see the DigitalOcean free credits entry, or read how to choose between a VPS, GPU cloud, serverless, or a sandbox. To see how Modal’s scale-to-zero model compares with a persistent GPU pod, read RunPod vs Modal. Every grant I track is listed on the credits index.
Modal, common questions
Does Modal require a credit card for the $30 monthly credits?
A payment method is required: the billing docs say you must have a payment method on file in order to use Modal. The official word is "payment method", not "credit card", and there is no officially described way to consume the monthly credits without one.
Does unused Modal credit roll over to the next month?
Not stated officially. The $30 is a monthly allowance on the Starter plan, and no official page says whether unused credit carries over, so this page publishes no rollover claim.
Can you run GPUs on Modal's free tier?
The $30 monthly allowance is spendable on Modal usage, but no official page itemizes whether it covers GPU line items, so this entry publishes arithmetic ceilings instead: at listed per-second rates, the whole $30 would buy roughly 7.6 hours of H100 SXM5, about 12 hours of A100 80 GB, or about 50.8 hours of T4, computed 2026-08-24. Beyond that, the startup program advertises "thousands of free GPU credits" by application, with no dollar figure stated.
What changed here
Added Modal: $30 per month.
Plus 3 rechecks that found nothing changed. Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.
Related entries
Sources
Last checked:All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.