Credits
Last checked:Netlify free tier: 300 credits per month
creditsserverlessnetlify
A platform for deploying web frontends, functions, and edge logic from a Git repo, now billed in credits. Official site
Netlify free tier, the facts
| Amount | 300 credits per month |
|---|---|
| Grant type | Monthly free tier |
| Expiry | Monthly; sites pause at the limit until the next cycle |
| Payment method required | Not stated officially |
| Withdrawable as cash | No |
| What I ran on it | Not tested yet |
Filed under: Serverless free tiers and credits
Good for
- Hosting personal sites and frontends inside 300 monthly credits at $0
- A plan the docs say you are never charged for
Not for
- Accounts with one hungry project: a single project exceeding the limit pauses all projects on the account
- Anything needing overage headroom: the 300-credit limit is hard, with no auto-recharge
Netlify’s Free plan is “$0 forever” with a limit of 300 credits per month. The limit is hard: there is no auto-recharge and no overage billing, and when you hit it, sites pause until the next monthly cycle. Whether a card is required to start is not stated on the current official pages; what the docs do say is that you will never be charged for the Free plan. Checked against the official pricing page and the credit-based billing docs on 2026-09-02.
Correction: the old quotas are historical
Most writeups about the Netlify free tier still quote 100 GB of bandwidth, 300 build minutes, and 125,000 function invocations per month. That wording is historical. Netlify moved to credit-based plans on 2025-09-04, and as of 2026-09-02 the current free allowance is 300 credits per month, with usage types metered against that single pool. If you are comparing free tiers using the old bandwidth numbers, you are comparing against a plan that no longer exists for these purposes. The same dating applies to the card question: the widely quoted “no credit card required” line comes from the launch-era blog post about the pre-2025 Legacy Free plan, and the current pricing page and billing docs state nothing about cards either way, so this entry now records the requirement as not stated.
How the 300 credits behave
Credits are a monthly allowance, not a balance you accumulate: the docs describe a monthly limit, sites pausing at the limit, and no auto-recharge. The nastiest detail is account-wide blast radius: one project exceeding the limit pauses all projects on the account. A forgotten demo site with a traffic spike can take down your active projects for the rest of the cycle.
What this plan is now
Netlify’s free plan today is closer in spirit to a metered wallet than the quota checklists of Vercel’s Hobby plan or the daily request counts of Cloudflare Workers Free. Whether 300 credits covers your site depends on how your usage maps to credits, and that mapping lives in the credit-based billing docs linked below.
Choose or skip
Choose Netlify Free if you want $0 card-free hosting for personal frontends and can accept a hard stop at the limit. Skip it if you run several projects on one account and cannot afford one of them pausing the rest.
What I have done with it
Not tested yet. This page reports only what the official pages state.
For alternatives with different limit behavior, see the Render free tier, or read how to choose compute. Every grant I track is on the credits index.
Netlify, common questions
Does Netlify require a credit card for the free tier?
The current official pages do not say, either way. What the docs do state is that you will never be charged for the Free plan. The "no credit card required" line that circulates comes from a launch-era blog post about the pre-2025 Legacy Free plan, which is why this entry moved from no-card to not-stated on 2026-09-02.
What happens when you run out of Netlify credits?
Sites pause until the next monthly cycle. The 300-credit monthly limit is hard: there is no auto-recharge and no overage billing, so the failure mode is a stop rather than a bill. Checked 2026-09-02.
What changed here
Corrected Netlify's card field from no to not-stated: the 'no credit card required' wording comes from the launch-era blog post about the pre-2025 Legacy Free plan, and the current pricing page and billing docs state nothing about cards either way.
Added Netlify: 300 credits per month.
Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.
Related entries
Vercel: $0 per month Hobby plan
Cloudflare Workers: 100,000 requests per day
Render: 750 free instance hours per month
Deno Deploy: $0 per month
Sources
Last checked:All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.