Credits
Last checked:OpenAI free credits: None
creditsapiopenai
The API platform for OpenAI models, billed by prepaid credits and usage tiers. Official site
OpenAI free credits, the facts
| Amount | None |
|---|---|
| Grant type | No free credit offered |
| Expiry | Not applicable: no free credit is offered |
| Payment method required | Not stated officially |
| Withdrawable as cash | No |
| What I ran on it | Not tested yet |
Filed under: AI API free credits
Not for
- Anyone expecting the circulated $5 free credit: it is not on official pages
- Reading the Free usage tier as a grant: it is a monthly usage cap, not credit
OpenAI publishes no free API signup credit. As of 2026-08-21, no official OpenAI page states a dollar grant for new API accounts. The “$5 free credit” that circulates in tutorials and listicles is not on the official pages I checked; the way to use the API is to add prepaid credits, and the spend-limits guide describes adding credits when your credit balance is exhausted. This entry exists to correct the record, not to describe a grant.
Where the $5 myth comes from
Two real things on OpenAI’s official pages get garbled into “free $5.” First, the usage-tier table lists Tier 1 as “$5 paid.” That is a qualification threshold, money you pay to enter Tier 1, not money OpenAI gives you. Second, older accounts historically received a trial credit, and that memory keeps getting reprinted as current fact. If a page tells you today’s signup includes $5 free, ask it for an official URL; on 2026-08-21 there is none.
The Free tier is a cap, not a credit
OpenAI’s usage-tier table does include a tier named Free. Read it carefully: it is geography-gated and comes with a $100 per month usage limit. That is a ceiling on how much usage the tier permits, not $100 of free money. Confusing a spend cap with a credit is the exact error this site exists to catch, and the tier’s name makes the error easy to make.
A verification note
help.openai.com and openai.com/api/pricing returned 403 during checking, so verification went through the developers.openai.com documentation, which is official. The negative finding stands on those pages: no free signup credit is stated.
Choose or skip
Choose OpenAI’s API knowing you will prepay from the first token. If you want to try models without paying, skip to providers with a real free path: OpenRouter has free-tier models with published daily limits, and Mistral has a Free mode for evaluation.
What I have done with it
Not tested yet, and there is nothing free to test. This page reports the absence of a grant as of the check date.
The same correction applies to Anthropic free credits, where a circulated $5 figure also fails verification. Every grant I track, including the no-credit corrections, is on the credits index.
What changed here
Added OpenAI: None.
Plus 1 recheck that found nothing changed. Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.
Related entries
Anthropic: Not quantified officially
OpenRouter: 50 free-model requests/day
Mistral: Not stated officially
Sources
Last checked:All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.