Skip to content
Independent notes on AI computeChecked daily / 2026.09.27
buildai/current

Credits

Last checked:

Supabase always-free tier: $0 per month, two free projects

creditssupabase

A hosted Postgres backend with auth, storage, realtime, and edge functions. Official site

Supabase always-free tier, the facts

Official pricing

Amount$0 per month, two free projects
Grant typeAlways-free tier, no expiring credit
ExpiryFree projects pause after 1 week of inactivity; limit 2 active projects
Payment method requiredNot stated officially
Withdrawable as cashNo
What I ran on itNot tested yet

Good for

  • A hobby app backend: Postgres, auth, and edge functions at $0
  • Prototypes that tolerate the inactivity pause

Not for

  • Projects that must stay up unattended: free projects pause after 1 week of inactivity
  • Image transformation workloads: not included in the free plan

Supabase’s Free plan is $0 per month and allows two free projects. It is an always-free tier with quotas, not a credit balance, and it does not expire on a calendar; what does happen is that free projects are paused after 1 week of inactivity, with a maximum of 2 active at once. The official pages do not state a card requirement for the free plan. Checked against the official pricing and billing pages on 2026-08-21, and the billing FAQ on 2026-08-29.

Correction: the $10 compute credits are not free money

You will see “$10/mo compute credits” mentioned around Supabase pricing. Those credits apply to paid plans only. They are not a free signup credit and not part of the Free plan, so a listicle counting Supabase as “$10 free per month” is misreading the pricing page. As of 2026-08-21, the free offer is the quota tier described here, full stop.

What each free project includes

Per project: a 500 MB database on shared CPU with 500 MB RAM. Per plan: 50,000 monthly active users for auth, 5 GB egress, 1 GB storage, 500,000 Edge Function invocations, and Realtime capacity of 200 peak connections and 2 million messages per month. Image transformations are not included in the free plan.

The pause behavior

After 1 week of inactivity a free project is paused and needs to be restored before it serves again. This is a different failure mode from the Render free tier, which spins down per request and wakes in about a minute; a paused Supabase project stays paused until acted on.

One org, one plan level

A billing gotcha from the docs: you cannot mix Free and Pro projects in a single organization. Upgrading means the organization upgrades, which matters if you keep several free projects under one org.

Choose or skip

Choose the Supabase Free plan if you want a full Postgres backend for a hobby app and will touch it at least weekly. Skip it if the project must survive weeks of neglect while staying online.

What I have done with it

Not tested yet. This page reports only what the official pages state.

For a Postgres-focused alternative, see the Neon free tier, or read how to choose compute. Every grant I track is on the credits index.

Supabase, common questions

Is Supabase really free?

Yes. The Free plan is $0 per month and allows two free projects; it is an always-free quota tier, not a credit balance, and the official pages do not state a card requirement. The caveat: free projects are paused after 1 week of inactivity and must be restored before they serve again.

What are the Supabase free tier limits?

Each free project gets a 500 MB database on shared CPU with 500 MB RAM. Per plan, the limits are 50,000 monthly active users for auth, 5 GB egress, 1 GB storage, 500,000 Edge Function invocations, and Realtime capacity of 200 peak connections and 2 million messages per month. Image transformations are not included in the free plan.

Are the $10 monthly compute credits part of the Supabase free plan?

No. Those credits apply to paid plans only; they are not a free signup credit and not part of the Free plan. As of 2026-08-21 the free offer is the two-project quota tier described here.

How many free projects can you have on Supabase?

Two active free projects per user: the billing FAQ words it as "You are entitled to two active free projects." Paused projects do not count towards the quota, and within an organization the limit is counted from all members who are Owner or Admin, so one member's exhausted quota can block new free projects for the whole organization. Seen 2026-08-29.

What changed here

  1. New entry

    Added Supabase: $0 per month, two free projects.

Plus 1 recheck that found nothing changed. Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.

Related entries

Sources

Last checked:

All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.