Credits
Last checked:E2B free credits: $100 (one-time)
creditse2bsandboxai-agents
Isolated cloud sandboxes for AI agents with a one-time $100 usage credit on the free Hobby plan, no credit card required to start. Official site
E2B signup credit, the facts
| Amount | $100 (one-time) |
|---|---|
| Grant type | One-time signup credit |
| Expiry | Not stated officially |
| Payment method required | No |
| Withdrawable as cash | No |
| What I ran on it | Not tested yet |
Filed under: AI sandbox free creditsFree credits with no card required
Good for
- Building AI agents that need secure code execution environments
- Testing sandbox-based tool-calling without upfront payment
- Small-scale agent experiments with per-second billing
Not for
- Long-running persistent servers: sandboxes are ephemeral by design
- Large-scale production agent fleets on the free credit alone
E2B provides isolated cloud sandboxes that let AI agents safely execute code, process data, and run tools. The free Hobby plan is $0 per month plus usage, and new users get a one-time $100 usage credit to start, with no credit card required. You pay per second while a sandbox is running. All of this is from E2B’s pricing page and billing docs, checked on 2026-09-02.

Screenshot: E2B pricing page
Last checked:
What the credit covers
The docs say “E2B uses usage-based pricing - you pay only for what you use,” and “New users receive $100 in free credits to get started.” The pricing page lists the credit as “One-time $100 of usage in credits” on the Hobby plan, whose base price is $0 per month. The credit is usage across the platform. I will not claim the $100 covers a specific named workload, because the official pages do not break it down that way; they describe it as usage credits against per-second runtime.
Hobby plan limits
Hobby is labeled “Free + Usage Costs.” The plan itself is $0 per month; what costs money is the usage. The $100 one-time credit offsets that usage. Anything beyond the credit is usage you pay for. The docs table lists the Hobby base as $0 per month and the free credits as $100 (one-time). There is no monthly recurring allowance here, unlike a plan that refreshes credit each month.
No credit card required
The pricing CTA reads “START FOR FREE (✓) NO CC REQUIRED.” That is stronger than most providers in this catalog: Google Cloud and DigitalOcean both require a payment method at signup, and Modal requires a payment method on file to use the platform at all. E2B’s official wording lets you start on the Hobby plan without one. I mirror “no credit card required” rather than upgrading it to “no payment method ever,” because the FAQ below describes adding a payment method once credits run out.
What happens when credits run out
The E2B FAQ states plainly: “What happens when I run out of credits? Your account will be blocked. Add a payment method to continue using E2B.” So the no-card start has a limit. Once the $100 is gone, you add a payment method to keep going. How long the $100 stays valid before it runs out is not stated officially; the credit is described as one-time, not as expiring on a clock.
What the $100 converts to at listed sandbox rates
E2B prices CPU and memory as separate per-second line items: the pricing page lists the 2 vCPU default at $0.000028 per second and memory at $0.0000045 per GiB per second, and the billing docs name the default sandbox as 2 vCPU with 512 MiB of RAM. Computed 2026-08-24 at those listed rates, that default sandbox costs $0.00003025 per second, so the $100 credit covers about 918 hours, roughly 38 days of one default sandbox running continuously. Storage does not change the math on Hobby, where the docs list 10 GiB as free. These are this site’s arithmetic ceilings, not an official figure: E2B publishes no dollars-to-hours conversion, and bigger sandboxes burn faster.
What I have done with it
Not tested yet. I have not personally run agents on E2B against the $100, so this page reports only what the official pages state.
The $100 is one-time, not monthly, and it buys runtime, not a persistent server you leave on. How it stacks up against Daytona’s $200 grant, including the GPU exclusion on that side, is laid out in E2B vs Daytona. For other free tiers and credits, see the Modal free tier and DigitalOcean free credits entries, or the guide on choosing between a VPS, GPU cloud, serverless, or a sandbox. Every grant I track is on the credits index.
What changed here
Added E2B: $100 (one-time).
Plus 2 rechecks that found nothing changed. Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.
Related entries
Sources
Last checked:All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.