Credits
Last checked:Groq always-free tier: $0, rate-limited
creditsapigroq
An inference platform serving open models on Groq's LPU hardware through a rate-limited API. Official site
Groq always-free tier, the facts
| Amount | $0, rate-limited |
|---|---|
| Grant type | Always-free tier, no expiring credit |
| Expiry | Not stated officially |
| Payment method required | Not stated officially |
| Withdrawable as cash | No |
| What I ran on it | Not tested yet |
Filed under: AI API free credits
Good for
- Trying fast inference on open models at $0
- Development traffic that tolerates rate limits
Not for
- Anyone needing published guaranteed free-plan quotas: the public table is not clearly the Free plan
- Expecting a dollar credit: there is none
Groq’s Free plan costs $0 and gives rate-limited API access. There is no cash credit, no trial balance, and no expiring grant: the free offer is the plan itself. What the specific free-plan rate limits are is the honest gap on this page: not stated officially in a form I can quote, for reasons explained below. The official pages do not state a card requirement for the free plan. Checked against the rate-limits docs and the billing plans page on 2026-09-02.
Why there is no rate table on this page
Third-party writeups about Groq’s free tier confidently list requests per minute, requests per day, and tokens per minute for each model. Here is the problem: on Groq’s own rate-limits page, the tabbed numeric table shows Developer-plan base limits, and the docs direct you to your organization’s console settings for the limits that actually apply to you. As of 2026-08-21 I could not find an official table labeled as Free-plan limits. So I will not paste numbers whose plan attribution is unclear. The number you need is in your console after signup, per Groq’s own docs.
What is officially clear
Three things are solid. The Free plan exists at $0 with rate-limited access. Limits are organization-specific and visible in console settings. And cached tokens do not count against your token limits, a detail from the rate-limits docs that matters if your workload repeats long prompts.
Free plan versus free money
Groq belongs in the same category as the Mistral free tier: a real, usable $0 tier whose exact quotas are deliberately per-organization rather than published. That is a different offer from a dollar grant, and it fails differently: you hit a rate limit and retry later, rather than draining a balance to zero.
Choose or skip
Choose Groq’s Free plan if you want fast inference on open models at $0 and can discover your limits empirically in the console. Skip it if you need published quota guarantees before you commit; Cohere’s trial key publishes its caps, and OpenRouter’s free models publish daily request limits.
What I have done with it
Not tested yet. This page reports only what the official pages state.
Every grant I track is on the credits index.
Groq, common questions
Is the Groq API free?
Yes, there is a Free plan: it costs $0 and gives rate-limited API access. Limits are organization-specific and visible in your console settings, and the official pages do not state a card requirement for the free plan.
What are Groq's free plan rate limits?
Not stated officially in a form this page can quote. The tabbed numeric table on Groq's rate-limits page shows Developer-plan base limits, and the docs direct you to your organization's console settings for the limits that actually apply to you. As of 2026-08-21 there was no official table labeled as Free-plan limits.
Does Groq give free credits?
No. There is no cash credit, no trial balance, and no expiring grant; the free offer is the $0 rate-limited plan itself. That fails differently from a dollar grant: you hit a rate limit and retry later, rather than draining a balance to zero.
What changed here
Added Groq: $0, rate-limited.
Plus 1 recheck that found nothing changed. Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.
Related entries
Mistral: Not stated officially
OpenRouter: 50 free-model requests/day
Cohere: 1,000 API calls per month on a trial key
Sources
Last checked:All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.