Credits
Last checked:Paperspace free tier: Free GPU (M4000) notebooks
creditsgpupaperspace
A DigitalOcean-owned platform for GPU notebooks and machines, with Gradient notebooks as its ML-facing product. Official site
Paperspace free tier, the facts
| Amount | Free GPU (M4000) notebooks |
|---|---|
| Grant type | Monthly free tier |
| Expiry | Ongoing free plan; free machines auto-shutdown after 12 hours per session |
| Payment method required | Not stated officially |
| Withdrawable as cash | No |
| What I ran on it | Not tested yet |
Filed under: GPU cloud free credits
Good for
- Notebook-based experiments on a free M4000 GPU without spending credit
- Learning and prototyping where an older GPU is enough
Not for
- General VMs or persistent servers: the free machines are for notebooks in private workspaces only
- Modern-GPU workloads on the free tier: paid H100 time is $5.95 per hour, and the free machine is an M4000
Paperspace’s free offer is hardware access, not a dollar credit: the free plan includes a Free GPU (M4000) and a Free CPU (C4), and the DigitalOcean docs scope them: free machines “can only be used for Notebooks in private workspaces”. The free plan carries 5 GB of storage. There is no credit amount to spend down and no expiry date; it is an ongoing plan feature. The pricing page caps free machines with “Auto-shutdown (12 hour limit)” per session. Whether a card is required to use the free machines is not stated. Paperspace is owned by DigitalOcean, and its pricing also lives in DigitalOcean’s docs. Checked on 2026-09-02.
What “free GPU” means here
The free machine is an Nvidia M4000, an older GPU. The official scope wording is narrow: notebooks in private workspaces only. That excludes general VMs, deployments, and anything you would SSH into as a server. If your mental model is “free GPU cloud instance”, this is not that; it is a free notebook runtime. For a dollar-denominated GPU credit instead, the Thunder Compute student credit is $20 on A6000 or L40 instances, if you qualify.
Session limits: what is stated and what is not
The paperspace.com pricing page states one hard number for the free tiers: “Auto-shutdown (12 hour limit)”, against “Auto-shutdown (configurable)” on paid tiers. So a free notebook session ends after 12 hours, seen 2026-09-02; this entry previously reported session caps as not stated, and the correction is logged in the changelog. What remains unstated is any monthly hour cap: neither the pricing page nor the DigitalOcean pricing docs give one, and the docs page does not repeat the 12-hour figure either. If you need guaranteed monthly hours, assume nothing.
Costs that continue when machines are off
Per the official pricing pages: storage and public IPs bill even when machines are off. The free plan includes 5 GB of storage; growth beyond included storage is billable. A free-tier notebook habit can still produce a small bill if you accumulate storage.
Paid rates for context
On the same official pricing pages: a paid M4000 is $0.45 per hour, and an H100 on demand is $5.95 per hour. That gap is the point of the free tier: it gives you the bottom rung of the ladder at $0.
The DigitalOcean connection
Paperspace is DigitalOcean’s ML-facing product line, and the docs live under docs.digitalocean.com. The DigitalOcean $5 signup credit is a separate offer with its own rules on the DigitalOcean side; neither offer references the other on the official pages.
What I have done with it
Not tested yet. I have not run notebooks on the free M4000 myself, so this page reports only what the official pages state.
Choose Paperspace’s free tier if a notebook on an older GPU covers your experiment. Skip it if you need a VM, modern GPU hours, or stated session guarantees. For the broader decision, see choosing between a VPS, GPU cloud, serverless, or a sandbox, and the credits index for every grant I track.
Paperspace, common questions
Is Paperspace still free?
The free plan still carries free machines as of 2026-09-18: a Free GPU (M4000) and a Free CPU (C4), with 5 GB of storage. There is no dollar credit to spend down and no expiry date; it is an ongoing plan feature rather than a trial.
Can the Paperspace free GPU run anything other than notebooks?
No. The DigitalOcean docs scope the free machines: they "can only be used for Notebooks in private workspaces". That excludes general VMs, deployments, and anything you would SSH into as a server. Checked 2026-09-18.
Does the Paperspace free GPU shut itself down?
Yes. The pricing page caps free machines with "Auto-shutdown (12 hour limit)" per session, so a forgotten notebook stops rather than running indefinitely. Checked 2026-09-18.
What changed here
Corrected Paperspace: the pricing page states free machines auto-shutdown at a 12-hour limit per session, where this entry previously reported session caps as not stated officially.
Added Paperspace: Free GPU (M4000) notebooks.
Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.
Related entries
Thunder Compute: $20 (US students only)
Salad: None
DigitalOcean: $5
Sources
Last checked:All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.