Skip to content
Independent notes on AI computeChecked daily / 2026.09.27
buildai/current

Credits

Last checked:

Thunder Compute free credits: $20 (US students only)

creditsgputhunder-computestudents

A GPU cloud that rents virtual machine instances with attached Nvidia GPUs, billed by the hour. Official site

Thunder Compute signup credit, the facts

Official pricing

Amount$20 (US students only)
Grant typeOne-time signup credit
ExpiryNot stated officially for the student credit
Payment method requiredNot stated officially
Withdrawable as cashNo
What I ran on itNot tested yet

Filed under: GPU cloud free credits

Good for

  • US students who want real GPU hours: $20 is about 57 hours on an A6000 at $0.35 per hour
  • Course projects and small fine-tuning runs that fit an A6000 or an L40

Not for

  • Anyone without a US student email: there is no general signup credit
  • A100 or H100 workloads: the student credit is not usable on those instances

Thunder Compute’s students page offers “$20 of free Thunder Compute credit” to people who sign up with a US student email address; the email domain is verified automatically. That eligibility limit is the headline: there is no general signup credit for everyone else. The credit is usable on A6000 and L40 instances only, not on A100 or H100. An expiry for the student credit is not stated officially, and the pages checked do not state that a card is required to claim it. All of this comes from the official students, pricing, and billing pages, checked on 2026-09-02.

Who qualifies

The offer is for students with a US student email address, and Thunder Compute verifies the domain automatically at signup. The students page does not describe a manual review path or an international student option, so I will not claim either exists. If you sign up with a regular email, you start at $0 credit.

What $20 buys

The credit applies to A6000 and L40 instances only. At the pricing page’s rates, that works out to:

  • A6000 at $0.35 per hour: about 57 GPU-hours
  • L40 at $0.79 per hour: about 25 GPU-hours

The credit is not usable on A100 instances at $1.09 per hour or H100 PCIe at $2.19 per hour. If your workload needs those tiers, the student credit does not help you.

Expiry and revocation

The students page does not state an expiry. The billing docs make two separate statements about credit: “Preloaded credit does not expire,” and “Promotional credit can be revoked at our discretion.” Which of those buckets the student $20 falls into is not stated officially, so this entry marks expiry as not stated rather than promising it lasts forever.

If you are not a US student

There is no general signup credit on Thunder Compute’s official pages as of 2026-08-21. The billing docs describe a card as optional for auto-pay, and a referral program pays 3% of referred GPU spend back as credits, which only pays off if you bring paying users. For free paths elsewhere, Lambda’s only official offer is an application-based research grant, and Paperspace has a free GPU notebook tier with no dollar credit at all.

What I have done with it

Not tested yet. I do not have a US student email to run this flow myself, so this page reports only what the official pages state. If a student reader burns through the $20, I would like to know what 57 A6000 hours covered in practice.

Choose Thunder Compute if you have a qualifying US student email and your workload fits an A6000 or an L40. Skip it if you need A100 or H100 hours covered, because the credit does not apply there. For how a GPU cloud compares with serverless allowances like the Modal free tier, see the guide on choosing between a VPS, GPU cloud, serverless, or a sandbox. Every grant I track is on the credits index.

What changed here

  1. New entry

    Added Thunder Compute: $20 (US students only).

Plus 1 recheck that found nothing changed. Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.

Related entries

Sources

Last checked:

All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.