Skip to content
Independent notes on AI computeChecked daily / 2026.09.27
buildai/current

Credits

Last checked:

fal.ai free credits: None

creditsserverlessapifal

A model API platform focused on image, video, and audio generation, prepaid, with no standard signup credit. Official site

fal.ai free credits, the facts

Official pricing

AmountNone
Grant typeNo free credit offered
ExpiryNo standard credit exists; occasional free credits or coupons last 1 week to 1 year, purchased credits 365 days
Payment method requiredNot stated officially
Withdrawable as cashNo
What I ran on itNot tested yet

Filed under: Serverless free tiers and creditsAI API free credits

Good for

  • Occasionally trying a promoted model free in the Sandbox when a grant is running
  • Media-generation APIs once you accept prepaying

Not for

  • Free API usage: official docs say free credits and coupons cannot be used through the API or Workflows
  • Anyone expecting a standard dollar signup credit: none is stated officially

fal.ai gives new accounts no standard signup credit. What exists officially: the Sandbox “occasionally offers free credits for specific models”, with no dollar amount stated and no schedule. Those occasional free credits and coupons last anywhere from 1 week to 1 year per the official docs, purchased credits last 365 days, and no card requirement is stated for signup. Checked against the official pricing page and docs on 2026-09-02.

The API restriction that makes the grants nearly useless for developers

The decisive official caveat: free credits and coupons cannot be used through the API or Workflows. So even when a Sandbox grant is running, it is a browser-playground allowance for specific promoted models, not something you can point an application at. If your goal is testing an integration, a fal free credit does not help; budget as if no free tier exists.

Concurrency and balance rules

New accounts are limited to 2 concurrent requests, rising to as much as 40 as you purchase credits. Accounts lock when the balance falls below a threshold, so this is prepaid in practice: money in first, generations after.

What I have done with it

Not tested yet. I have not caught a live Sandbox grant to measure, so this entry reports only what the official docs state.

Choose fal if you want its media-generation catalog and will prepay. Skip it if you wanted free API testing: Fireworks AI’s $1 credit works through the API, and Replicate’s limited free runs at least cover real requests on listed models. For another credit with a sharp scope restriction, see Novita’s Sandbox-only $100.

What changed here

  1. New entry

    Added fal.ai: None.

Plus 1 recheck that found nothing changed. Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.

Related entries

Sources

Last checked:

All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.