Credits
Last checked:Lambda free credits: None
creditsgpulambda
A GPU cloud selling on-demand and reserved Nvidia instances, from single GPUs to multi-GPU clusters. Official site
Lambda free credits, the facts
| Amount | None |
|---|---|
| Grant type | No free credit offered |
| Expiry | No signup credit exists; research grant expiry not stated officially |
| Payment method required | Not stated officially |
| Withdrawable as cash | No |
| What I ran on it | Not tested yet |
Filed under: GPU cloud free credits
Good for
- Qualifying researchers willing to apply: the research program offers up to $5,000 in cloud credits
Not for
- Anyone expecting credit at signup: no official page offers one
- Chasing the $10 to $15 signup credits or the old $150 promo cited in roundups: not on official pages
Lambda has no free signup credit: creating an account does not come with promotional credit on any official page I checked on 2026-09-02. The one official free path is Lambda’s research program, which offers qualifying researchers “up to $5,000 in cloud credits”, and that is an application, not an automatic grant. Whether a payment method is required at signup is not stated on the pages checked, and there is no expiry to report because there is no signup credit.
The research grant is the only official free path
The program lives at lambda.ai/research. The offer as officially worded is for “qualifying researchers up to $5,000 in cloud credits”, in a sentence that goes on to say the credits are “to develop and showcase their work using Lambda’s Instances”. Who qualifies is decided by Lambda through the application, and the expiry of an awarded grant is not stated officially. If you are not doing research you can frame in an application, Lambda currently has nothing free for you.
Circulating figures that are not on official pages
Coupon roundups and older posts cite $10 to $15 signup credits, and an older $150 promotional credit. As of 2026-08-21 none of those appear on Lambda’s official pages. Treat them as stale until Lambda’s own pages say otherwise. This pattern repeats across GPU clouds: Nebius suspended its trial entirely, and Crusoe’s circulated $300 is not on its official pages either.
What $5,000 would buy, if awarded
Purely as math against the on-demand rates on Lambda’s instances page, an awarded $5,000 grant would cover about 1,253 H100 GPU-hours at the 8x H100 SXM rate of $3.99 per GPU-hour, or about 7,246 hours on a Quadro RTX 6000 at $0.69 per hour. Other listed rates for scale: A100 SXM 80 GB at $2.79, A6000 at $1.09, V100 at $0.79 per hour. This is arithmetic on public prices, not a claim about what Lambda actually awards.
Credit fine print from the billing docs
The billing docs state that service credits issued as refunds expire 12 months after they are issued and are not redeemable for cash. That is the closest thing to an official statement on how Lambda credits behave, and it is about refunds, not promotions, so I do not stretch it further.
What I have done with it
Not tested yet. I have not applied to the research program, so this page reports only what the official pages state.
Choose Lambda if you can write a credible research application or you are fine paying from hour one. Skip it if you are hunting signup credit, and look at the Thunder Compute student credit if you qualify, or the credits index for grants that actually exist at signup.
Lambda, common questions
How do you get the Lambda Cloud research grant?
By application at lambda.ai/research. The offer as officially worded is for qualifying researchers, up to $5,000 in cloud credits. Who qualifies is decided by Lambda through the application, and the expiry of an awarded grant is not stated officially.
Does Lambda Cloud give free credits at signup?
No. Creating an account does not come with promotional credit on any official page checked on 2026-09-02. The $10 to $15 signup credits and the older $150 promo cited in coupon roundups are not on official pages; treat them as stale.
What changed here
Added Lambda: None.
Plus 1 recheck that found nothing changed. Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.
Related entries
Thunder Compute: $20 (US students only)
Nebius: None (trial suspended)
Crusoe Cloud: $5 (serverless only)
Sources
Last checked:All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.