Credits
Last checked:Linode (Akamai Cloud) free credits: None
creditsvpslinode
Akamai's cloud computing platform, formerly Linode, offering VPS instances, managed Kubernetes, and GPU instances. Official site
Linode (Akamai Cloud) free credits, the facts
| Amount | None |
|---|---|
| Grant type | No free credit offered |
| Expiry | Not applicable; promo code amounts and terms are per code |
| Payment method required | Yes |
| Withdrawable as cash | No |
| What I ran on it | Not tested yet |
Filed under: VPS free credits
Not for
- Anyone signing up expecting an automatic credit: official docs describe none
- Skipping payment setup: a credit or debit card or PayPal is required at signup
Linode, now Akamai Cloud, has no standard free credit on its official docs. As of 2026-08-21, the getting-started documentation describes signup with a credit or debit card or PayPal for identity verification, and a separate page describes adding a promo code; no automatic signup grant appears anywhere official. This page records that negative finding with a date.
Correcting the $100 for 60 days claim
The most circulated Linode figure is $100 of credit valid for 60 days. As of 2026-08-21 that offer is not on Akamai’s official techdocs. It appears to survive through referral links and promo landing pages, which means any credit you receive is a property of the specific code or link you used, with its own terms, not a standing offer Akamai documents. Treat roundups citing an automatic $100 as unverified until an official Akamai page states it. The Hetzner entry documents the same pattern: a widely repeated number that official pages do not back.
What the official docs do say
Two things are documented. First, signup requires a payment method: a credit or debit card, or PayPal, used for identity verification. Second, a promo code mechanism exists, with amounts and validity defined per code. If you have a code from an event or referral, the docs describe where to enter it during signup.
Where that leaves Linode for free experimentation
Without a documented credit, Linode competes on its paid pricing and its Akamai backbone, not on evaluation money. If your goal is a funded trial of a VPS-style cloud, DigitalOcean’s documented $5 signup credit is small but official, and Civo’s $250 is the largest verified grant in this set. For structural guidance, read how to choose between a VPS, GPU cloud, serverless, or a sandbox.
What I have done with it
Not tested yet. This page reports only what the official pages state.
Choose Linode if you already have a promo code in hand or want Akamai’s network on paid terms; skip it if you are hunting for an automatic signup credit, because officially there is none. Every grant I track, including negative findings, is on the credits index.
What changed here
Added Linode (Akamai Cloud): None.
Plus 1 recheck that found nothing changed. Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.
Related entries
Hetzner: None
DigitalOcean: $5
UpCloud: $500 / €500 for 30 days
Sources
Last checked:All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.