Skip to content
Independent notes on AI computeChecked daily / 2026.09.27
buildai/current

Credits

Last checked:

UpCloud free trial: $500 / €500 for 30 days

creditsvpsupcloud

A European cloud provider offering VPS instances, managed databases, and object storage from datacenters in Europe, Asia, and the US. Official site

UpCloud free trial, the facts

Official source

Amount$500 / €500 for 30 days
Grant typeTime-limited free trial
Promo campaignboost500 (active)
Standard baseline7-day quota-limited standard trial, per official docs
Expiry30 days on the current promotion; standard trial is 7 days from activation; the trial must start within 365 days of registration
Payment method requiredYes
Withdrawable as cashNo
What I ran on itNot tested yet

Filed under: VPS free credits

Good for

  • A real 30-day evaluation budget: $500 / €500 in promotional credits on the current signup offer
  • EU-region VPS, managed database, and object storage testing without spending your own money

Not for

  • GPU workloads: the boost500 banner excludes GPU servers from the promotion, and the standard trial lists them as not available
  • Card-free signup: entering the trial requires verifying with a valid credit card

As of 2026-09-02, the boost500 promotion is no longer shown on the default signup page: visiting signup.upcloud.com offers the 7-day standard trial and a “Have a promo code?” field. The boost500 code itself still works. Activating it shows “Try UpCloud with €500”, a choice of $500 or €500 in credits valid for your first 30 days, and a footnote that is new since the last check: “GPU servers are excluded from the promotion”. A valid credit card is required to verify the account, with a 0 or 1 €/$ temporary authorisation per the docs; the trial itself requires no payment.

UpCloud signup flow step titled How your trial works: get $500 in credits for your first 30 days, verify with a valid credit card with no payment required, and upgrade with a minimum payment of $10 to keep trial resources running

Screenshot: UpCloud signup flow, trial activation step

Last checked:

The promotion’s mechanics at a glance:

MechanicWhat the official pages state
Trial paymentNone up front
Card verificationA 0 or 1 €/$ temporary authorisation
Upgrade minimum10 in account currency
GPU serversExcluded from the promotion, per the boost500 banner; excluded on the standard trial

The screenshot above shows the promotion as it was displayed by default on 2026-08-24; since then it has moved behind the promo code field. This is a promo-dependent offer: boost500 is a code on the signup flow, not the documented baseline, so I recheck its status weekly. The promo campaign row in the facts table above says whether it is still active.

Why UpCloud says both 7 days and 30 days

UpCloud’s free-trial docs still describe a standard trial that is 7 days and quota-limited rather than a dollar pot: servers capped at 2 cores and 4 GB of memory, no Windows servers, and a locked firewall with limited ports. The same docs state that “certain promotions may offer longer trial periods” and that “you may get different options for your trial depending on current promotions and other offers”. The $500 / €500, 30-day trial on the signup flow is exactly that: a promotion layered on top of the documented baseline, not a correction of it.

That layering is why circulating descriptions of UpCloud’s trial disagree: 7 days, 30 days, no fixed credit amount, and $500 / €500 are all in print somewhere. This page treats the 30-day promotion as the offer you can currently claim, and the 7-day standard trial as the baseline the documentation guarantees. If the promotion ends, this entry falls back to the baseline.

The promotion’s terms

The signup flow states the working rules: verify with a valid credit card, no payment required for the trial, and upgrading with a minimum payment of 10 in your account currency ($10 on the dollar-denominated flow) keeps your trial resources running. The free-trial docs match on that figure: a minimum one-time deposit of 10 in your chosen currency, before or during the trial. If the trial ends without at least the minimum payment, services deployed during the trial are removed, though the account itself stays active. The trial must be started within 365 days of registration.

On GPU servers the promotion is now explicit: the boost500 banner states “GPU servers are excluded from the promotion”, seen 2026-09-02. The standard-trial products table is likewise explicit about its own layer, listing GPU Servers, Private Cloud, and Windows servers as not available, and the bonus-credits docs add that bonus credits awarded by promo codes currently require manual activation by support to deploy GPU products. So neither layer offers GPU time: excluded on the promotion, not available on the standard trial. Those docs also carry a generic rule that promotional credits are valid for 60 days after signup, while the signup flow scopes this offer to the first 30 days; I publish the offer surface’s own 30 days.

Separately, the referral program grants €25 / $25 to a referred signup and €50 / $50 to the referrer. That is a distinct mechanism with its own terms, not part of this promotion.

Startup program status

UpCloud has referenced a startup program, but as of 2026-08-21 the program page is unreachable, returning 403 or 404 errors, so no amount can be verified. Nothing about it appears here until an official page states figures.

What I have done with it

Not tested yet. This page reports only what the official signup flow and docs state.

Choose UpCloud if a month and a real $500 / €500 budget answer your evaluation questions; skip it if you need guaranteed GPU time, since the standard trial lists GPU servers as not available and the promotional pages state nothing about GPU either way. For other dollar-denominated grants, see Scaleway free credits or Civo free credits; for providers with no grant at all, see the Hetzner entry. Every grant I track is on the credits index.

UpCloud, common questions

Is the UpCloud free trial 7 days or 30 days?

Both are official, on different layers. The default signup page now offers the 7-day, quota-limited standard trial. The boost500 promotion, $500 / €500 for your first 30 days, still applies as of 2026-09-02, but only when the promo code is entered or passed in the signup URL; it is no longer shown by default.

What is the UpCloud boost500 promotion?

boost500 is the promo code for the $500 / €500, 30-day promotional trial. As of 2026-09-02 the code still works but is no longer applied by default: enter it in the signup page's promo code field. The promotion banner states GPU servers are excluded. You verify with a valid credit card (a 0 or 1 €/$ temporary authorisation), and the trial itself requires no payment.

Is UpCloud's $500 a free credit or a money-back guarantee?

A promotional trial credit, per the pages this entry cites. The official signup flow states "Get $500 in credits for your first 30 days" under the boost500 campaign: no payment is required for the trial, the card is used only for verification with a 0 or 1 €/$ temporary authorisation, and the credit is not withdrawable as cash. Nothing on the cited pages describes a money-back or refund mechanism; the $500 / €500 is a budget to spend during the first 30 days.

Does the UpCloud boost500 code still work?

It applied as of 2026-09-02, but it is no longer applied by default: enter it in the signup page's promo code field or pass it in the signup URL. Without the code the default signup offer is the 7-day standard trial. The promotion banner states GPU servers are excluded.

What changed here

  1. Correction

    Corrected UpCloud on two points, with the offer's terms unchanged: the boost500 promotion no longer shows on the default signup page and now requires entering the promo code (the default offer is the 7-day standard trial), and the promotion banner now explicitly excludes GPU servers, where this entry previously reported GPU eligibility as not stated.

  2. Amount changed

    UpCloud changed from 7 days, no dollar amount to $500 / €500 for 30 days: the official signup flow now advertises a promotional free trial of $500 in credits for the first 30 days under the boost500 promotion with card verification required, while the docs keep the 7-day quota-limited standard trial as the baseline; GPU eligibility for the promotional credits is not stated on the pages checked.

  3. New entry

    Added UpCloud: 7 days, no dollar amount.

Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.

Related entries

Sources

Last checked:

All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.