Skip to content
Independent notes on AI computeChecked daily / 2026.09.27
buildai/current

Credits

Last checked:

OVHcloud free trial: US$200

creditsvpsovhcloudgpu

A European cloud provider whose Public Cloud offers instances, managed Kubernetes, object storage, and AI tools including GPU notebooks. Official site

OVHcloud free trial, the facts

Official source

AmountUS$200
Grant typeTime-limited free trial
ExpiryOne month from creation of your first Public Cloud project
Payment method requiredYes
Withdrawable as cashNo
What I ran on itNot tested yet

Filed under: GPU cloud free creditsVPS free credits

Good for

  • A one month evaluation of OVHcloud Public Cloud with a defined US$200 budget
  • Trying GPU-backed AI tools: official examples include 35 hours of an AI1-1-GPU notebook

Not for

  • Set-and-forget testing: usage past the credit is billed automatically to your payment method
  • A second or later Public Cloud project: the trial applies to the first project only

OVHcloud gives new Public Cloud users a US$200 free trial credit, valid for one month from the creation of your first Public Cloud project. A valid payment method is required before the trial starts, and, this is the part to plan around, usage is billed automatically once the credit is used. The voucher activates at project creation, and it applies to one project only. All figures come from OVHcloud’s official pages, checked on 2026-09-02.

The auto-billing gotcha

Most trials in this space end in suspension: run out of credit and your resources stop. OVHcloud’s trial ends in a bill: after the US$200 is consumed, charges continue on your payment method automatically. If you want a hard stop at $0, you must delete your resources yourself before the credit runs out. This is the opposite failure mode from Azure, where the subscription is disabled unless you actively upgrade.

GPU examples are official

OVHcloud is unusual in this set for publishing GPU examples of what the trial covers: 35 hours of an AI1-1-GPU notebook, or 5 hours of AI Training on 4 nodes. That makes it one of the few trials here where GPU usage on the credit is officially illustrated rather than left unstated. Quotas still apply, so larger configurations may need a quota request.

Scope limits

The trial applies to your first Public Cloud project only, cannot be combined with other offers, and excludes beta and free services. The clock starts at project creation, not account creation, so do not create the project until you are ready to use the month.

What I have done with it

Not tested yet. This page reports only what the official pages state.

Choose OVHcloud if you want a documented GPU-capable trial and will watch the meter; skip it if you cannot risk auto-billing past the credit. For a European alternative without the auto-bill cliff, see Scaleway free credits; for a bigger credit on a similar clock, see Civo free credits. Every grant I track is on the credits index.

OVHcloud, common questions

How much free credit does OVHcloud give?

New Public Cloud users get a US$200 free trial credit, valid for one month from the creation of your first Public Cloud project. It applies to that first project only, cannot be combined with other offers, and excludes beta and free services.

What happens when the OVHcloud free credit runs out?

Charges continue automatically on your payment method; a valid payment method is required before the trial starts. If you want a hard stop at $0, you must delete your resources yourself before the credit is consumed.

Can I use the OVHcloud trial credit for GPU workloads?

Yes, and OVHcloud publishes official examples of what the trial covers: 35 hours of an AI1-1-GPU notebook, or 5 hours of AI Training on 4 nodes. Quotas still apply, so larger configurations may need a quota request.

What changed here

  1. New entry

    Added OVHcloud: US$200.

Plus 1 recheck that found nothing changed. Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.

Related entries

Sources

Last checked:

All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.