Credits
Last checked:RunPod free credits: None
creditsserverlessgpurunpod
A GPU cloud where you rent pods and serverless GPU workers by the second, prepaid from a credit balance. Official site
RunPod free credits, the facts
| Amount | None |
|---|---|
| Grant type | No free credit offered |
| Expiry | Not stated officially |
| Payment method required | Not stated officially |
| Withdrawable as cash | No |
| What I ran on it | Not tested yet |
Filed under: GPU cloud free creditsServerless free tiers and credits
Good for
- Cheap on-demand GPU rental once you accept paying from the first minute
- Referral-bonus hunting if you were joining anyway: a bonus can land after a $10 load
Not for
- Trying GPUs for free: there is no signup credit and pods stop at a $0 balance
- Anyone expecting the widely circulated $10 free credit: that figure is a deposit, not a gift
RunPod gives new accounts no free credit. As of 2026-08-24, no official RunPod page offers a signup grant: you deposit money first and spend it down. The “$10” that circulates in blog posts and referral threads is the minimum deposit, official docs wording: “start with as little as $10”, which is your own money, not a gift. No card requirement is stated for that first deposit, and crypto is listed among payment options.
The circulating $10 claim, corrected
Search results and referral posts routinely promise “$10 free RunPod credit.” The official billing docs say no such thing. What they say is that RunPod is prepaid and you can start with as little as $10, a deposit floor, not a credit. If a page told you signup alone yields $10, it is describing the deposit or a referral outcome, not an official signup grant.
The referral bonus, which is real but conditional
RunPod’s referral docs do describe a bonus, and this is likely where the confusion starts. The official conditions: you must load at least $10, sign in with Google SSO, be a first-time user, and have signed up after 15 June 2025. The bonus in the EU is a fixed $5; outside the EU it is random between $5 and $500, and the docs note about 96 percent of users get $10 or less. So the realistic outcome is roughly $5 to $10 of bonus on top of $10 of your own money, and only through a referral link. That is a top-up bonus, not a free tier.
The $1,000 startup program is gated
RunPod’s Startup Program offers “$1,000 in credits” on its Starter track and a $25,000 bonus for loading $50,000 on the Growth track. Both are application-based and eligibility-gated. They are not a signup offer, and I list them so nobody mistakes the headline for a general grant.
Prepaid mechanics that bite
The balance rules matter more than the missing credit. Pods stop when your balance hits $0, and if the pod had no network volume, the data is gone. You need at least one hour of credits at the pod’s rate to deploy it. Stopped pods still bill disk at $0.20 per GB per month, double the running rate. Credits are non-refundable, the default spend cap is $80 per hour, and prepaid cards should deposit at least $100 per the docs.
What a $10 deposit rents at listed rates
Since the $10 is your own money, the useful question is what it rents. RunPod’s pricing page lists each GPU at two hourly rates, Community Cloud and Secure Cloud, so both belong in the math. Computed 2026-08-24 at the listed prices: an RTX 4090 at $0.34 per hour on Community Cloud or $0.74 on Secure Cloud means $10 buys about 29 hours or about 13.5 hours respectively. An A100 PCIe at $1.19 and $1.39 per hour comes to roughly 8.4 or 7.2 hours. An H100 PCIe at $1.99 and $2.89 per hour is about 5 hours on Community and about 3.5 hours on Secure. These are arithmetic ceilings, not promised runtime: storage, the one-hour-of-credit deploy requirement, and the stopped-pod charges described above draw from the same balance.
What I have done with it
Not tested yet. I have not personally deposited and run pods for this entry, so it reports only what the official pages state.
Choose RunPod if you want by-the-second GPU rental and accept prepaying. Skip it if you wanted free experimentation: Modal gives $30 per month of actual credit, and the RunPod vs Modal comparison covers the trade-off in depth. Beam was the other option until 2026-09-09, when its $30 per month came off the official pages. For the same no-free-credit reality check on inference APIs, see Together AI.
What changed here
Added RunPod: None.
Plus 2 rechecks that found nothing changed. Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.
Related entries
Modal: $30 per month
Beam: None
Together AI: None
Sources
Last checked:All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.