Credits
Last checked:Together AI free credits: None
creditsserverlessapitogether-ai
An inference API platform for open-weight models, prepaid, with access starting at a minimum $5 credit purchase. Official site
Together AI free credits, the facts
| Amount | None |
|---|---|
| Grant type | No free credit offered |
| Expiry | No free credit exists; purchased credits do not currently have an expiration date |
| Payment method required | Yes |
| Withdrawable as cash | No |
| What I ran on it | Not tested yet |
Filed under: Serverless free tiers and creditsAI API free credits
Good for
- Open-weight model APIs once you accept a $5 minimum purchase
- Buying credit that officially has no expiration date today
Not for
- Free experimentation: there is no trial and no signup credit
- Anyone who read that Together gives free credits: the official docs say the opposite
Together AI gives new accounts no free credits and no free trial. The official docs say it plainly: “Together AI does not currently offer free trials. Access to the Together platform requires a minimum $5 credit purchase.” That $5 is your own money buying prepaid credit, not a grant. The upside in the official wording: purchased credits “do not currently have an expiration date”. Checked against the official pricing and billing docs on 2026-09-02.
The correction
Older posts and aggregator lists still describe Together AI as giving $5 or $25 of free credit at signup. Whatever was true in the past, the official docs as of 2026-09-02 state there are no free trials and that access starts with a minimum $5 purchase. If a list puts Together in a “free credits” column, it is out of date.
Payment mechanics
Together is prepaid and the API suspends at a $0 balance. Auto-recharge requires a credit or debit card; if your default payment method is ACH, auto-recharge is disabled. One account-level gotcha from the official docs: always sign in with the same OAuth provider, because different providers can land you in different accounts.
What to use instead
If the goal was open-weight models through an API at $0, two tracked free tiers serve tokens without a purchase. OpenRouter serves models tagged :free at 20 requests per minute and 50 requests per day, rising to 1,000 per day once lifetime purchases reach $10, with no card required, though OpenRouter itself warns those models are usually not suitable for production. Groq runs a $0 Free plan with rate-limited access to open models; the exact limits are organization-specific and shown in your console rather than published. Neither hands you a dollar balance, but both let you send your first request before spending the $5 Together requires.
What I have done with it
Not tested yet. I have not purchased credit for this entry, so it reports only what the official pages state.
Choose Together if you want its model catalog and are fine prepaying $5. Skip it if you wanted a genuinely free first token: Fireworks AI gives $1 of usable API credit at signup, while DeepInfra sits in the same pay-first camp as Together. For GPU rental rather than APIs, the same correction applies to RunPod.
What changed here
Added Together AI: None.
Plus 1 recheck that found nothing changed. Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.
Related entries
Fireworks AI: $1
DeepInfra: None
RunPod: None
Sources
Last checked:All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.