Skip to content
Independent notes on AI computeChecked daily / 2026.09.27
buildai/current

Credits

Last checked:

Exoscale free credits: None

creditsvpsexoscale

A European cloud provider offering compute instances, GPU instances, Kubernetes, and object storage from datacenters in Europe. Official site

Exoscale free credits, the facts

Official source

AmountNone
Grant typeNo free credit offered
ExpiryNot applicable
Payment method requiredYes
Withdrawable as cashNo
What I ran on itNot tested yet

Filed under: VPS free credits

Not for

  • Free evaluation: signup requires adding funds before you can run anything
  • Instant GPU access: GPU requires account validation, with priority given to established businesses

Exoscale offers no free credit. As of 2026-08-21, signing up requires adding funds, on a prepaid model, to validate your payment method before you can use the platform. There is no trial balance and no signup grant on the official signup page or FAQ. This page records that negative finding with a date.

Prepaid from the first minute

Exoscale’s model inverts the usual trial flow: instead of a credit you spend down, you deposit money you spend down. That removes the bill-shock failure mode of auto-billing trials like OVHcloud’s, but it also means there is no way to evaluate Exoscale at $0. One operational trap from the FAQ side: stopped instances still accrue storage charges, and an account balance can go negative.

GPU is gated separately

GPU instances require account validation, with manual screening and priority given to established businesses. So even a funded new account does not get immediate GPU access. If you need a free or low-friction GPU path, this is the wrong provider; the options are compared in how to choose between a VPS, GPU cloud, serverless, or a sandbox.

What to use instead

For a European VPS you can evaluate at $0 first, two tracked entries do what Exoscale will not. UpCloud is advertising a promotional trial of $500 in credits for your first 30 days, verified with a credit card but with no payment required for the trial itself; if the promotion ends, the documented baseline is a 7-day quota-limited trial. Scaleway gives new Professional accounts EUR 100 of signup credit on EU datacenters, with a valid credit card and a reimbursed EUR 1 authorization, though how long the credit stays valid is not stated officially. Both ask for a card; neither asks you to deposit your own money first.

What I have done with it

Not tested yet. This page reports only what the official pages state.

Choose Exoscale if you want a European provider on a prepaid model and are past the free-evaluation stage; skip it if you want any form of credit first, in which case Scaleway’s €100 is the nearest European alternative. Every grant I track, including negative findings like this one and Hetzner’s, is on the credits index.

What changed here

  1. New entry

    Added Exoscale: None.

Plus 1 recheck that found nothing changed. Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.

Related entries

Sources

Last checked:

All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.