Skip to content
Independent notes on AI computeChecked daily / 2026.09.27
buildai/current

Credits

Last checked:

Vultr free trial: Not stated officially

creditsvpsvultr

A cloud provider offering VPS instances, bare metal, and cloud GPU across a large global region footprint. Official site

Vultr free trial, the facts

Official source

AmountNot stated officially
Grant typeTime-limited free trial
ExpiryUp to 30 days
Payment method requiredYes
Withdrawable as cashNo
What I ran on itNot tested yet

Filed under: VPS free credits

Not for

  • Budgeting an evaluation around a known number: officially there is none
  • Assuming GPU coverage: whether the trial covers Cloud GPU is not stated

Vultr’s official documentation says new accounts can receive free credits for up to 30 days, and that is the entire official statement: no dollar amount appears on the docs page. A payment method is required for verification; linking a card works with a $0 deposit, while other payment methods need a small deposit. Checked against the official account creation docs on 2026-09-02.

The missing number is the story

Coupon sites and roundups confidently attach figures to Vultr’s trial, most often $100 or $300. As of 2026-08-21, neither number is on Vultr’s official docs page describing account creation and trial credits. The docs say “free credits for up to 30 days” and stop there. So the honest published amount is: not stated officially. If you sign up through a specific promo link, whatever credit you receive belongs to that promotion’s terms, not to a documented standing offer. The same correction applies to Linode, where the circulated $100 for 60 days is also absent from official docs.

What is documented

Three things are official: new accounts can get free credits for up to 30 days; a payment method is required for verification; and a linked card can satisfy that with a $0 deposit, while other methods need a small deposit. That last detail is unusual and mildly useful: card verification itself does not force you to prepay.

GPU coverage: unknown

Vultr sells Cloud GPU instances, but whether the trial credits can be spent on them is not stated in the docs. I will not guess. If you need a trial with officially documented GPU coverage, OVHcloud publishes concrete GPU examples for its US$200 trial.

What I have done with it

Not tested yet. This page reports only what the official pages state.

Choose Vultr if its regions or pricing already fit and any trial credit is a bonus; skip it if you are choosing a provider based on trial size, because Vultr does not publish one. For grants with verified amounts, see DigitalOcean free credits or Civo free credits. Every grant I track is on the credits index.

What changed here

  1. New entry

    Added Vultr: Not stated officially.

Plus 1 recheck that found nothing changed. Every row links to the full record on the changelog, with the official page it was checked against.

Related entries

Sources

Last checked:

All numbers on this page come from the official pages above, checked on the date shown. If a figure is not stated there, this page says "Not stated officially" instead of guessing.